# Howard County Bird Club

a chapter of the Maryland Ornithological Society



# Sunday, October 30, 2022

# Gudelsky Environmental Education Center Mount Pleasant

### Program

Registration and Hospitality period 1:00 – 2:15 p.m.

Opening remarks

Kristin Trouton, President, Howard County Bird Club

#### Welcome

Meg Boyd, Executive Director, Howard County Conservancy

## Special Greetings

Bonnie Borsa, President, Maryland Ornithological Society Jane Robbins' message from the Chandler S. Robbins family

Introduction of additional invited guests

#### Howard County Bird Club: The Early Years Nanine Rhinelander, Howard County Bird Club Founder David Holmes, Founding Committee member

Howard County Bird Club: The First Fifty Years Joanne Solem, fifty-year member

# Recognition of leaders, long-time members, and Fiftieth Anniversary Challenge participants

Presentation of Awards Founders Award Valued Service Award

Door prize drawings

### Cake cutting Kristin Trouton and Nanine Rhinelander



The title "bird club" is a gross understatement of the history and achievements of the organization in the areas of scientific data gathering, education and outreach, and habitat and wildlife support. It is a magnet for those interested in the local natural world and a solid partner with both local government and nongovernment organizations that support the county wildlife habitats and public areas affording citizens access to natural surroundings. Ward Ebert, HCBC President 2010-2012

# **Fiftieth Anniversary Challenge**

The following individuals are recognized for completing the Fiftieth Anniversary Challenge

Karan Blum Megan Bolcar Donna Carollo Mary Lou Clark Sue Earp Wes Earp Joe Hanfman John Harris Meg Harris Robin Hessey Yi-Ying Lee Shashi Lengade Jessica Leung Anne Looker Brigitte Lund Dean Mahlstedt Mary Maxey Karlyn McPartland Sue Muller Wendy Ormont Karen O'Steen Gregg Petersen Kate Plough Mary Prowell John Henri/Melody Rorabeck David Sandler Kurt Schwarz Jay Sheppard Joanne Solem Chuck Stirrat Val Swan Sherry Tomlinson Kristin Trouton Pamela Villanyi Kelsey Wellons

# **Long-time Members**

The following current members have been continuous chapter supporters for extended periods. They are to be commended for their commitment to the county's birds and its wildlife.

#### 50 Year Members

40-49 Year Members

David Holmes (Founding Committee member) Joanne Solem

Eileen Clegg	Michael Leumas	Tom Strikwerda
Bob Doyle	Bea Newkirk	Chuck Stirrat
Jane Geuder	John Oetting	Eva Sunell
Ralph Geuder	Janet Randle	Mark Wallace
Kevin Heffernan	Bob Solem	
	25-39 Year Members	
Sue Buswell	Jeffrey Friedhoffer	Bruce Peterjohn
Mary Lou Clark	Dave Harvey	Sue Probst
Lisa Colangelo	Maureen Harvey	Ann Marie Raterman
Ralph Cullison III	Joyce Kelly	Linda Roberts
Robert Davis	Patsy Kennan	Kurt Schwarz
Julie Dunlap	Brigitte Lund	Jay Sheppard
Sue Earp	John McKitterick	Dan Southworth
Wes Earp	Barry Miller	Linda Southworth
Ward Ebert	Georgia Morris	Denise Tester
Tracy Eve	Sue Muller	Robin Todd
John Finedore	Sue Neri	Kate Tufts
Cathy Franklin	Richard Orr	Richard Tufts
Tom Franklin	Peter Osenton	Michele Wright
Sandra French	Bonnie Ott	

#### **Honorary Life Member**

In the HCBC's 50-year history, the only Honorary Life Member has been Chandler S. Robbins, who was granted that status on November 20, 1983 at a dinner in his honor. His special relationship with this chapter continued until his death on March 20, 2017.

#### Acknowledgments

Anniversary events were funded by designated contributions from the following generous individuals, and profits from shirt sales.

Annette Allor Bonnie Bezila Mary Lou Clark Kevin Heffernan Brian Moyer Bonnie Ott Howard Patterson Sue Probst Ann Marie Raterman David Sandler Kurt Schwarz Joanne Solem Cathy Staropoli Charles Stirrat Eric/Kristin Trouton

We are also deeply indebted to the following:

*Joy Aso* for producing the Valued Service Award and the Founders Award.

Sue Probst, who designed the shirt logo (back cover)

Pam Perna, designer of Fiftieth Anniversary webpage logo (page 3)

The many volunteers who have contributed to this weekend's success.

A special thank you to the Howard County Conservancy for making the Gudelsky Environmental Education Center available for this event and to Marketing and Events Manager Grace Gillespie for her professional assistance.

#### Fiftieth Anniversary Committee

Joanne Solem, Chair Mary Lou Clark David Holmes Mary Maxey David Sandler Kristin Trouton Kelsey Wellons Bob Solem, Webmaster

#### American Goldfinch: Howard County's Official Bird on Black-eyed Susan, Maryland's State Flower

